Critical Compliance: Ensure Your Ability to Accept Credit Card Payments After July 1, 2010

The five major credit card networks established the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI-DSS) as a set of requirements for merchants to use when configuring their IT and payment-processing environments. If your company stores, processes, or transmits card holder data you may be subject to these requirements. If you are, you must comply by July 1, 2010, or you risk losing the ability to process credit cards.

Net at Work and Sage encourages all relevant parties to educate themselves on PCI-DSS and the steps required to ensure your business is protected. These standards require that merchants:

  1. Build and Maintain a Secure Network
  2. Protect Cardholder Data
  3. Maintain a Vulnerability Management Program
  4. Implement Strong Access Control Measures
  5. Regularly Monitor and Test Networks
  6. Maintain an Information Security Policy